August 23, 2013

Hello Everyone! My name is Will McCracken and I am currently working with the Atlanta Falcons in their IT Department. I actually work at the Falcon’s Facility in Flowery Branch where all of the staff, including players and coach, work during the week. The story of how I ended up here is actually fairly interesting.

I was visiting family that lives up here in Flowery Branch one weekend and I’ve driven by the Falcon’s Camp a number of times. I always looked at the building behind the gates and thought that it would be so interesting to work in a business setting that was focused solely on sports. I just happened to look at the Falcon’s website and saw a job posting for an opening with the IT Department. ‘Perfect!’, I thought and I laughed as I filled out the application; knowing that nothing would come from it…

I soon received a call from the HR Department and went through a pretty lengthy phone interview process. The next week, I had a Skype interview with the President of Information Technology and the Technical Analyst. As it turns out, I was chosen out of over 70 people who had applied for the open position.

I should mention this small fact. I had just purchased a home in Valdosta last year and was following up on job leads around town. I definitely did not plan to leave my home anytime soon, and I definitely did not plan to move to Flowery Branch and work for the Atlanta Falcons. After a lot of talks with my family and praying, I decided that this is a once in a lifetime opportunity and that I should make the most of this opportunity that was offered to me. Amazingly, I sold my house within 2 weeks of putting it up for sale, packed my things, and moved to Flowery Branch!

I will be providing updates, pictures, and behind the scenes looks throughout the season. Feel free to ask me any questions and I will do my best to answer each question!

One thought on “August 23, 2013

  1. Congratulations. I must admit there is no surprise. It is always nice to see a student succeed. Hopefully this can go from an internship to a permanent position for you.

Leave a Reply

